top of page
Writer's pictureTanushree Sengupta

TAPASTE- A TASTE OF SPAIN IN KOLKATA





The Theme

Tapaste, situated on Hindustan Road in Kolkata, offers an authentic Spanish dining experience. Led by Antonio Costa Bolufer and Kunal Ganguly, this restaurant distinguishes itself with vibrant décor inspired by Spanish vineyards and a menu rich with traditional dishes like Paella, Gazpacho, and Churros. The cozy interior, adorned with colorful motifs and inviting furnishings, enhances the overall ambiance, making Tapaste a delightful destination for those seeking the flavors of Spain in Kolkata.

Tapaste in Kolkata offers a taste of Spain with its diverse menu of traditional dishes like Paella, Sopa De Marisco, and Salpicon de Marisco, all crafted from fresh, authentic ingredients. The restaurant's theme is vibrant and evocative of Spanish coastal towns and vineyards, featuring colorful decor that creates a lively ambiance. Inside, you'll find hand-painted wooden chairs, patchwork cushions, and rustic furnishings that enhance the authentic Spanish dining experience. Tapaste stands out as a premier destination for those in Kolkata looking to enjoy genuine Spanish cuisine in a warm, inviting setting.

I went to Tapaste with one of my friends in September, last year when I was living in Kolkata. To be very honest, we were quite surprised at how good and fresh the food was. I would definitely like to recommend this place to everyone visiting Kolkata.


The Location

Tapaste is located at 21B, Hindustan Road, Gariahat, Kolkata. It's situated in the lane opposite to Bhojohori Manna.


The Food

The menu has a wide variety of Spanish food. Since I had not tried any Spanish food then, I was really excited to try some. We took some time to decide what we wanted to eat.

  • Albondigas. In Spain, meatballs are called Albondigas, derived from the Arabic al-bunduq, which means hazelnut or anything that is round (I took this description straight from the menu lol). It was served with some pieces of garlic bread. The sauce was so good and creamy, and the meatballs were just perfectly juicy. This dish gets 8.5/10.


Albondigas- Spanish meatballs

  • Gambas al Ajillo. It means garlic shrimp. It is a popular tapas dish, mostly found in and around Madrid. This one has to be my favorite dish. I am a huge fan shrimps in garlic butter, I used this combination to make fried rice so frequently. The garlic sauce was out of this world. This dish was also served with garlic bread, and I remember asking for extra garlic bread because the bread was delicious too. I would rate this dish a 9/10.


Gambas al Ajillo- Garlic shrimps

  • Sweet Sky Blue. For beverage, I had chosen Sweet Sky Blue, expecting it to be a chiller, however it was a warm drink, but it was delicious too. I would rate it an 8/10.


Overall, it was a pleasant experience. If I visit Kolkata again, I would like to try out some more of their food and maybe get to chat with the owners as well. According to what we had ordered, pocket pinch for two would be around Rs.1200. If you do plan on visiting Tapaste or have visited this place before, let me know down in the comment section! I'll see you in the next blog with a recipe of one of my most favourite dishes. Until then, happy eating!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page